Skip to content


Jean Saveraid receives IASB Better Boardsmanship Award


2016-17 Better Boardsmanship Award Winners – Board Members and Administrators from Iowa School Districts and AEAs Recognized for Commitment to Learning and Leadership

Des Moines, Iowa – The Iowa Association of School Boards (IASB) presented the 2016-17 annual Better Boardsmanship Awards on Nov. 16 during the IASB Convention at the Iowa Events Center in Des Moines.  The awards are given each year to individual board members, board teams and administrators who dedicate time and work to learning, advocacy, leadership and service projects to expand their knowledge and skills for better governance. Applicants must earn credit toward these awards.

Jean Saveraid, Ballard Board of Education Vice-President, was one of just 57 board members in the state that received the Individual Achievement Award.  She began her teaching career in 1971 and has served on the Ballard Board of Directors since 2000.  She currently resides in rural Huxley and continues to substitute teach at Gilbert Community School District.

Congratulations, Jean, and thank you for your leadership!